"I do not like to repeat successes, I like to go on to other things." 
-Walt Disney

Well the countdown is moving right along and so am I! In exactly one week's time, I will be down in Florida at my first day on the job. A lot of things have happened since I last posted on this blog site, the biggest thing being, I GRADUATED! Yep, I'm now the proud holder of a Bachelor of Arts degree. It hasn't quite sunk in yet. Most of the last three weeks has been leading up to finals and then the actual commencement ceremony itself. Sunday was a whirlwind of preparing for the ceremony, making snarky comments during the ceremony (what can I say, I like sarcasm) and then packing up the last of my things to go home. But even at home I don't have time to rest. I have exactly one week to get all of my check-ups done and I'm in the middle of acquiring a Hyundai Accent (since cars are nice). 
Right now I'm sort of in this weird flux stage. I'm certainly looking forward to Disney, however, I have so much stuff to do between now and then, I don't feel like I'm all that close. I also don't know much about what will happen when I get down there (i.e. where I'm living exactly or where I'm working). So the fact that I've left my undergraduate career behind hasn't quite sunken in, nor has just how little time I have until my Disney College Program starts.
In the mean time, I've filled out my housing information through an online site called:
DORMS is a matching system. I are assigned a resident number and you can choose to either match with other people you already know by giving them your number or you can "be adventurous" and let DORMS match you based on your preferences (alcohol/non-alcohol, age, gender, arrival date, etc). It's a little uncertain about how exactly it works, but I think that what happens is it matches you ahead of time. You bring code of conduct and automatic payment forms as well as a barcode of your resident number with you to check-in on the first day and I'm assuming they will tell you where you are and who you are with at that time. It's supposed to expedite the check-in process and encourage you NOT to show up at 7 AM in order to get the best room assignments (which happened in the past). At least, that's what I understand it to be. I sort of wish I could know a bit more about my placement before I get down there, but I suppose I can live with not knowing. =/
Anyways, I hope to have more to tell you guys in a week (I'm sure I will!). Ta-ta for now!
-Katie



Leave a Reply.